GIG REVIEWS

WEIRD BONER 3

May 24, 2019

You know the gig will fucking break you, nevermind induce weird boners, when on arrival it already takes you forever to eventually get inside, after greeting, chatting and drinking with many fellow metalheads outside \m/

KRANK"D UP 2018

September 28, 2018

It was time for Turning Tricks Entertainment's 6th annual one day festival – Krank’d Up, featuring a whopping 19 South African bands and the 2 international headliners: Sikth and Miss May I...

GOING CRAZY FISTY \m/

May 01, 2018

The day had arrived for Joburg to experience the Post-Alaskan, Portland-Core Crazy Fists for the 2nd time, since they graced our ecstatic souls, at Krank’d Up Music Fest in 2015, thanks to Turning Tricks Entertainment. It’s always fucking humbling when international acts return after their first visit. A one night stand is great, but this is like, “Yeah, they fucking love us too, man \m/” ...They even started their journey in Cape Town this time round, so romantic of them ;)

June 25, 2017

The abominable snowman, was rumoured to have made its way down, to South Africa, all the way from the icy Himalayas, as it heard about a little festival in its namesake. The long weekend starting 16 June, saw a variety of bands and fans come together, for Yeti Fest, held at Wolmer bush lounge, to find this mythical ape like creature and to celebrate numerous birthdays, in the best way possible!

D-DAY DESTRUCTION

September 30, 2016

Saturday 10 September, saw a very bitter sweet event, held at Wolmer Bush Lounge.

D-DAY was the farewell party gig for the Afrikaans Swaar Metaal Groep, Kadawer Dialoog. Their guitarist, one of the founding members, known in the scene as Kriss Kadawer, is heading underneath, down under, next week.

There is darkness in light and light in darkness... this doesn’t necessarily translate to good and evil, or if you must, from a religious perspective, God and Satan... and perhaps in some cases it does. There certainly is evil in light and good in dark too ...and this is not a fucking mythology, philosophy or theology write up... It's a music event review.

Saturday 27th February, saw a great line up of over 20 bands across two stages, for Metal Feast, the first event of its kind, at my home away from home, Rumours Lounge. I was totally amped for this feast of metal, meat and ice cold mead!

February 04, 2016

Well well well... After some unnecessary drama and various disappointments within and outside of the scene blah blah blah... It was time to put all that shit behind us, stand together and kick start this year off, at Wolmer Bush Lounge, with the Legendary Emalyth Arts Expo 8 – Infiniti, brought to us by Emalyth. We seriously needed to get our METAL on and enjoy ourselves and oh my fuck, we got so much more, than we bargained for!

2015 is on its way out and with that, we couldn’t have asked for a better way to see this EPIC year off, than with one final International Act, brought to us by the legendary Witchdoctor Productions, all the way from Washington DC.

December 13, 2015

With an epic 2015 drawing to a speedy close, Joburgers were spoilt, with a pre taste of the Legendary and Annual Free Form Music and Arts Festival, held at Cinamambo, in Graskop. The warm up party took place at Smugglers, Friday the 4th of December.

Yeah yeah, venue changes, blah blah blahdiba... the scene is uhmmmm... uderground you know? So it goes hand in hand with that. Quite frankly, it adds to the atmosphere and soul of that which is metal. So yeah, I say bring it on, where the music is, you will find us \m/ ...and what a treat we were given...

October 27, 2015

So there are some urban legends going around, that Folk metal, firstly, isn’t uhmm metal? Secondly, that no one is interested in folk metal? And thirdly? Well I don’t give a fuck what they say and neither should you... folk metal IS metal, it's alive and kicking and fucking loved, end of story!

October 21, 2015

It was a blazing hot day! This gave us all the more reason to enjoy ice cold, thirst quenching delights, not that we need more reason to drink ;) It was also a dress up if you wish, and most of us came as ourselves of course, dressed as we metalheads do, with the few exceptions in their styling, cosplay outfits. This event was filled with KONTRASTS, so its damn fitting for my first review for KONTRAST \m/

Please reload

By Heidi de Villiers

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle